Skip to content

My View. VMware View 4.0

10 May 2010

After listening to Mike Laverick Chinwag podcast http://www.rtfm-ed.co.uk/2010/05/03/chinwag-with-mike-mike-laverick-episode-13/ it inspired me to give it a go.

So there I was reading an e-mail from our Service Delivery Manager asking if anyone had any idea’s for making a ‘Working from home’  project more of a viable option.  With my VMware hat on I immediately thought that VMware View could be a good choice for both working from home and also getting the best out of ageing desktop hardware.

At the moment we already have an environment of 8 ESX host managed by vSphere and it seemed a good idea to leverage what we already have and test View on this kit.  Fortunately I also had a dev server with plenty of local disk storage available.  I steamed ahead and build a test vm and then installed View.  Within less than an hour I had a View server all setup and ready to go.  After creating a fresh desktop vm guest with our standard Windows XP build and then adding the VMware tools and View client I was ready for action!

A colleague of mine has spent about 9 months building a new corporate desktop image with all the application required installed.  This has been a very lengthy project with many many builds and a lot of testing but he has finally produced this ‘gold’ image.  Now exhausted he has been asked to do the same but with Windows Server 2003 as a Citrix presentation server.  (oh no! Not another nine months and users already used to the new system and demanding that they can be able to use the same new image remotely).  Well…. after this story I thought that we already have a perfect desktop image to use and with a little bit of help from VMware View we can utilise this image now saving many man hours.

Yes… It’s defiantly worth a go of the 60 day trial.  It’s a simple and easy to use system (so far!)  And after the evaluation my even fit your business needs!  I’ll keep you posted on how I get on!

From → ESX, View

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

