Skip to content
Tags

VMware View. My View Part 2

14 May 2010

I’m new to VMware View but not to vSphere so thought I would explain my finding for other newbies!

I’ve been through the documentation for View and found it helpful when installing the product but after that I struggled to build a real life scenario.

Installing and setting up View in an existing vSphere environment was very straight forward.  I simply installed  Orchestrator on my vSphere Server and then created a new guest VM and install View server.  During the install it asked whether you would like to initialise a new SQL database or use the existing vCenter database.  As this was just a proof of concept I opted for the latter.

The next step was to build a ‘Gold’ image workstation which I already had as a colleague had created a corporate Windows XP image using MDT.  Once that had completed I installed the VMware Tools, the View Agent and once the machine had shut down do the all important snapshot.

Now I logged into VMware View web console, entered my serial number, authorised my vSphere server and set about creating an automated desktop pool using my freshly built workstation.  Once on the ‘Desktop and Pools’ tab I went about adding a new pool.  I chose to use a ‘Automated Desktop Pool’ and a ‘non-persistant’ setting also.  Non-persistant seamed the best option to me as users profiles were backed up upon logging off.  The only other tweak to my configuration was to change the ‘automatic log off time’ when users are disconnected to 120 minutes.  This can  obviously change depending on your environment.  The rest of the wizard is very straight forward with, Virtual machine folder, Resource Pools, Datastores, Quickprep, AD container, Etc.  Once I click the ‘Finish’ button, navigate to the vSphere client and you will see in the events all the activities from the View server such as creating new guest VM’s.

The next piece to this how users connect.  There seem to be two scenarios.

1.  Install a security server, poke holes in the firewall and allow users to connect from home using the web method to serve the XP desktop.  This has it’s problems as it does not support the PCoIP protocol.

2. Connect to the network using a VPN or local users already on the LAN and then use the full View client to serve the XP desktop utilising the full PCoIP protocol and experience.

Having users on the local network is a no brainer.  Just install the View client and away you go.  (Not a great idea to use the web client in this situation).  Use a GPO to control the settings for the client.  I am hope to test the new Samsung NC190 Zero client.  These seem hard to get hold of at the moment but I may just order one and wait for it to arrive.

The second connection method is for remote users.  At the moment there doesn’t seem to be a good method here.  Once the user has connected to the network using a VPN then expecting a user to install the full View client isn’t really feasible.  It would be good if the web client could support the PCoIP protocol in the future so make this remote connection scenario a decent option.

I can’t wait to test the Samsung NC190 or even the bigger screened Samsung NC240!

Any comments or suggestions greatly received!

From → View

One Comment
  1. Jeremyy permalink

    Hi,

    If you played with the Samsung units have you came across away to shutdown the units for the night and power then back on for the morning?

Leave a Reply

